International Workshop on New and Disruptive Technologies and Applications for Mobile Edge/Fog Computing - MobileEdgeCom 2019

General Chairs

Christian Esposito

Christian Esposito

University of Napoli “Federico II”, Italy (christian.esposito@unina.it)

Prof. Christian Esposito is currently a Professor Assistant at the University of Napoli “Federico II”, and received the National Qualification in Italy as Associate Professor in Computer Engineering since May 2017 and in Computer Science since August 2018. He was a Research Associate at the University of Salerno, and at The Institute for high performance computing and networking of the Italian National Research Council (ICAR-CNR). He graduated in Computer Engineering in 2006 and got his PhD in 2009, both at the University of Naples “Federico II”. He has published about 60 papers both an international journals and conferences and has been a PC member or involved in the organization of about 40 international conferences/workshops. His interests include positioning systems, reliable and secure communications, and multi-objective optimization. He regularly serves as a reviewer in journals and conferences in the field of distributed and dependable systems. He is Associate Editor of the IEEE Access, and has served as guest editor for multiple international journals..

Gianluca Rizzo

Gianluca Rizzo

University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland (HES-SO) – Valais, Switzerland (gianluca.rizzo@hevs.ch)

Dr. Gianluca Rizzo is Senior Researcher at the Institute of Information Systems of the University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland (HES-SO) since April 2013, and current Director of ConExLab. He has been Research Assistant Professor at IMDEA Network, and Adjunct Professor at UC3M. He has been with the IC lab at EPFL, Switzerland, where he received his PhD in Computer Science in 2008. He has been Researcher in Telecom Italia labs (TILAB, former CSELT) between 2001 and 2003, and in ABB between 2008 and 2009, where he worked on Utility Communications. He holds a MS in Electronic Engineering and Telecommunications (cum laude) from Politecnico di Torino. His most recent interests are in the design and evaluation of algorithms for dynamic network management of wireless networks, in opportunistic communication paradigms such as Floating Content, in QoS provisioning in vehicular networks, in issues of IoT integration, and on QoS guarantees in avionic networks. He has received the Best Paper Award at ITC 2011 and IEEE NCA 2012, the Honourable mention at COMSNETS 2015, and the Best Student Paper Award at ITC 2017.

Jiannong Cao

Jiannong Cao

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong (csjcao@comp.polyu.edu.hk)

Prof. Jiannong Cao is currently a Chair Professor of Department of Computing at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong. He is also the director of the Internet and Mobile Computing Lab in the department and the director of University’s Research Facility in Big Data Analytics. His research interests include parallel and distributed computing, wireless sensing and networks, pervasive and mobile computing, and big data and cloud computing. He has co-authored 5 books, co-edited 9 books, and published over 600 papers in major international journals and conference proceedings. He received Best Paper Awards from conferences including, IEEE Trans. Industrial Informatics 2018, IEEE DSAA 2017, IEEE SMARTCOMP 2016, IEEE/IFIP EUC 2016, IEEE ISPA 2013, IEEE WCNC 2011, etc. Dr. Cao has directed and participated in over 90 research and development projects and, as a principal investigator, obtained over HK$43 million grants.

Jiannong Cao

Antonio Jara

University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland (HES-SO) – Valais, Switzerland (antonio.jara@hevs.ch)

Antonio J. Jara is working at the Institute of Information Systems of the University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland in Valais. He received two M.S. (Hons. - valedictorian) degrees. The first in Computer Science from UMU in 2009, where my Master Thesis explored the “Internet of things in clinical environments”, and a second M.S. Computer Science degree dealing with advanced networks and artificial intelligence from UMU in 2010. Here the Master Thesis pertained to “Mobility protocols for 6LoWPAN”. He has been associated with the Department of Information and Communication Engineering, UMU, since 2007, where he has been working on several projects related to the WSNs (6LoWPAN and ZigBee) and RFID applications in building automation and healthcare. He is especially focused on the design and development of new protocols for security and mobility for Future Internet of things, which is the topic of my Ph.D. He is also Master in Business Administration (MBA). He has published over 50 international papers and hold one patent in the IoT area. Finally, he is co-founder of www.viBrainSolutions.com a BIG DATA and Internet of Things company focused on personalized healthcare,  energy awareness and smart cities solutions.

Jiannong Cao

Matthieu Delaloye (Publicity Chair) 

University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland (HES-SO) – Valais, Switzerland (matthieu.delaloye@hevs.ch)

Matthieu Delaloye is working at the Institute of Information Systems of the University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland (HES-SO). After completing his studies in economics with a Master's degree in Information Systems Management, he founded tikiCheck Sàrl, a market research institute, and specializes in survey methodologies and data analysis. He joined the HES-SO Valais-Wallis in 2016 to handle communication and carry out work in the fields of eGovernment, Open Sciences and media innovation.

Tentative Program Committee



Marcello Cinque, University of Napoli Federico II, Italy

Francesco Palmieri, University of Salerno, Italy

Florin Pop, University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania

Chang Choi, Chosun University, Rep. of Korea

Xin Su, Hohai University, China

Massimo Ficco, Univ. of Campania “Vanvitelli”, Italy

Antonio J. Jara, HES-SO, Switzerland

Zhipeng Cai, Georgia State University, USA

Sriram Chellappan, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA

Chaokun Wang, Tsinghua University, China

Program Committee Members

Ramon Alcarria, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid

Yann Bocchi, HES-SO Valais - Wallis

Vittorio Cozzolino, Technical University of Munich

Ernir Erlingsson, University of Iceland

Dominique Genoud, HES-SO Valais-Wallis

Esa Hyytiä, University of Iceland

Kenji Kanai, Waseda University

Eirini Kalogeiton, University of Bern

Gaetano Manzo, University of Bern

Paulo Melo, University of Coimbra

Helmut Neukirchen, University of Iceland

Yoshihiro Ohba, Toshiba Electronics

Marcin Piotr Pawlowski, Jagiellonian University

Domenico Rotondi, TXT e-Solutions

Borja Bordel Sánchez, UPM, Madrid, Spain.

Eryk Schiller, University of Bern

Dhananjay Singh, Hankuk University of Foreign Studies

Ridha Soua, University of Luxembourg

Giovanni Stea, University of Pisa

Masaru Takeuchi, Waseda University

Hideki Tode, Osaka Prefecture University

Toshitaka Tsuda, Kyoto University

Kshitiz Verma, LNMIIT Jaipur

Massimo Villari, University of Messina

Christian Vitale, IMDEA Networks Institute

Srdjan Krco, DunavNET



The mobileedgecom.hevs.ch website uses cookies to offer you a quality user experience and to optimise the site's functionalities. By continuing to navigate the site, you accept the use of cookies subject to the conditions specified in our legal notice.